Principle Investigator

Yasuhiro Ishida


1996. 3. Univ. Tokyo B.D.

1998. 3. Univ. Tokyo M.D.

2001. 3. Univ. Tokyo Ph.D.

2001. 4. Univ. Tokyo Assistant Prof.

2007. 6. Univ. Tokyo Lecturer

2009. 9. RIKEN Team Leader

Publications / Honors

JST PRESTO (’07–’11)

JST CREST (’17–’23)

JST CREST (’22–current)

• Society of Polymer Science Japan Science Award (’18)

• RIKEN Eiho Award (’24)


May the members be blessed with health, happiness, and good results…!

Postdoctoral Researchers

Xiang Wang


2012. 6. Tianjin Univ. B.D.

2014.12. Tianjin Univ. M.D.

2018. 9. Univ. Tokyo. Ph.D.

2018.11. RIKEN Postdoc Researcher


2D colloidal liquid crystals


Structural coloration

Publications / Honors

J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2018, 140, 16396.

Science 2023, 380, 192.

• The SMJS Rising Star Award (’19)

• The 7th RIKEN-NCTU Symposium Best Poster Award (’19)

• RIKEN Eiho Award (’24)


Nothing is more exciting than discovering something new.

Qifeng Mu


2015. 6. Tiangong Univ. B.D.

2018. 6. Tiangong Univ. M.D.

2022.12. Hokkaido Univ. Ph.D.

2023. 6. RIKEN Postdoc Researcher


Asymmetric systems

Biomimetic materials

Publications / Honors

Nat. Commun. 2022, 13, 6213.

ACS Appl. Mat. Inter. 2020, 12, 33152.

Langmuir 201733, 10291.


Practice makes perfect.

Yunlei Zhang


2018. 6. Northwest Normal University B. D.

2023. 6. University of Chinese Academy of Sciences Ph.D.

2023 9. RIKEN Postdoctoral Researcher


Soft matter and interface forces

Biomimetic material

Publications / Honors

Nature Communications 2022, 13, 377.

Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2022, 61, e202209741.


Good Good Study, Day Day Up.

Technical Staffs

Kuniyo Yamada


Kanagawa Inst. of Tech. M.D.

Technical Staff


Organic synthesis

Hayato Kanai 


2016. 3. Saitama Univ. B.D.

2018. 3. Saitama Univ. M.D.

2022. 3. Saitama Univ. Ph.D.

2018. 4. RIKEN JRA

2021.10. RIKEN Technical Staff


Chiral supramolecular liquid crystals


Shuxu Wang 


2018. 6. Zhejiang Univ. B.D.

2020. 9. Univ. Tokyo M.D.

2020. 10. Univ. Tokyo. Ph.D. course

2020. 10. RIKEN JRA


Rod-shaped bacteriophages

Publications / Honors

Adv. Energy Mater. 2019, 9, 1900887.

Chem. Eur. J. 2023, 29, e202302261.

• National Scholarship, Zhejiang Univ. (’16)

Xiaoyao Wei


2016. 6. Chongqing Univ. Posts & Telecommun. B.D.

2019. 6. Southwest Med. Univ. M.D.

2020. 9. Shaanxi Univ. Sci & Technol. Ph.D. course

2023. 4. RIKEN student trainee


Photonic crystals composed of cellulose nanocrystals

Publications / Honors

Int. J. Biol. Macromol. 2023, 235, 123805.

Nat. Commun. 2019, 10, 5762.

• Scholarship of China Scholarship Council (’23)


There is more to come.

Chia Hsin Lin


2019.06. NCKU. B.D.

2019.09.-2021.01. NTU. M.S. Course

2021.01 NTU. Direct Pursuit of the Ph.D. Degree


Surface analysis of biointerface

Publications / Honors

ACS Appl. Bio Mater. 2023, 6, 5695.

ACS Appl. Polym. Mater. 2023, 5, 10105.

J Food Drug Anal. 2021, 29, 544.

• IPC 2023 Young Scientist Poster Award


Yitong Xie


2017. 6. Univ. of Jinan B.D.

2020. 6. Dalian Polytechnic Univ. M.D.

2020. 9. Chinese Academy of Forestry Ph.D. course

2023. 11. RIKEN student trainee


Biomass-based polymer materials

Publications / Honors

J. Mater. Chem. A 2022, 10, 13685.

• The 33rd CCS Congress Best Poster Award (’23)


Everything’s gonna be fine.

Office Administrator

Yoko Ono


Hometown: Saitama

Ex Members(Ex members in academia are here

FY 2022
Noriko Horimoto
Zhifang Sun
Krishnachary Salikolimi
FY 2021
Jungho Lee
Zhihao Li
Yiyang Zhan
Koki Sano
Colloid-based soft materials
(Shinshu Univeersity)
Annamalai Prathap
Inorganic nanosheets
(Isha Vidhya Metric Higher Secondary School)
FY 2020
Noriyuki Uchida
Biorelated nanomaterials
(Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology)
FY 2019
Naoto Iwata
Bottlebrush polymers
(Tokyo University of Science)
Masayoshi Yanagi
Phospholipid nanosheets
Suzhi Cai
Luminescent aerogels
(Fujian Normal University)
Liming Liu
Semiconductor colloidal quantum dots
Hiroko Kawano
Graphene oxides
FY 2018
Naoki Igarashi
Colloid-based gels
Zhifang Sun
Anisotropic gel actuators
(The University of Tokyo)
Kenny Zhi Wei Low
Phospholipid nanosheets
Hideko Kono
Office administration
FY 2017
Kento Ueno
Filamentous phages
Yoshihiro Yamauchi
Bottlebrush polymers
(National Institute of Materials Science)
Xiaoyu Li
Photoresponsive nanosheets
(Beijing Institute of Technology)
Christian Neumann
Au nanoparticles
Rumi Iino
Office administration
FY 2016
Takenori Tose
Supramolecular liquid crystals
Joonil Cho
Helical supramolecular nanomaterials
FY 2015
Chunji Li
Supramolecular liquid crystals
Wei Zhang
Supramolecular gels
(South China University of Technology)
Qiaochu Li
NMR alignment media
FY 2014
Yuka Onuma
Mechanically anisotropic gels
Youn Soo Kim
Anisotropic gel actuators
(Pohang Institute of Science and Technology)
Changhua Li
Anisotropically swelling gels
(Nankai University)
Mingjie Liu
Mechanically anisotropic gels
(Beihang University)
FY 2013
Linlin Wu
Anisotropically conducting gels
(Nanjing Tech. University)
Masataka Ohtani
Carbon nanomaterials
(Kochi University of Technology)
Reika Luo
Office administration
FY 2012
Jeongho Lee
Carbon nanotubes
Ryoich Matsui
Phospholipid nanosheets
Shingo Tamesue
Nanocomposite hydrogels
(Utsunomiya University)
Laura Maggini
Carbon nanotubes
(University of Vienna)
Mika Hikawa
Office administration
FY 2011
Achalkumar A. Sudhakar
Supramolecular polymers
(Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati)
Vakayil K. Praveen
Supramolecular polymers
Qigang Wang
Nanocomposite hydrogels
(Tongji University)
Mayumi Nagata
Office administration

Ex Members in Academia